How To Use ‘Secret Conversation’ in Facebook Chat On iPhone?

By Deepak Saxena April 1, 2017 How To, Tech Tips

Whenever we a smartphone app, the first thing that comes to our mind is privacy. We require the best privacy because we share personal details over these applications, that could be misused if in wrong hands. Hence it would certainly be nice to have a messenger that allows such information to be shared securely. The good news is, such a service is already being offered by Facebook that has Secret conversation mode on its messenger. You can also use it on the Facebook messenger application for android and iOS.

You may also like: How You can Disable Facebook Live Notifications?

Let us understand Secret mode in more detail: When you start a conversation in secret mode on Facebook messenger it provides end to end encryption. It means that no one in between including Facebook can read the conversation but please note if the person with whom you are in the conversation can choose to share the conversation by taking screen shot.  You can share only the text, pictures and stickers over a secret conversation.

Here is how you can enable secret conversation on your iPhone.

1. Open Facebook messenger app on your iPhone. Tap “Me” tab given at the bottom.

2. Tap Secret Conversations.

3. Turn on the “secret conversation” switch.

img1_0104_2-min

Now to start a secret conversation follow given steps:

1. Go to Facebook messenger home where you will find list of your friends.

2. Tap on the “+” Icon given at the top right.

3. Next tap the Secret button given at the top right and select the contact with whom you wish to initiate a secret chat.

img2_0104_2-min

When you are sending message with secret mode enabled then they will not be visible on the desktop.

In an ongoing conversation if you want to enable secret mode you can also do the same by taping on the name of your friend and then enabling secret mode.

img3_0104_2-min

Another amazing feature of secret messaging is that you can now set a time limit for your messages that means the message you are sending will be disappeared after the time which you have already set. You can do this by taping clock icon given above the send button.

Also read: How to Open Multiple Facebook Accounts on Android Phone Without Rooting?

img4_0104_2-min

This is how your Facebook messages are now secret messages you can chat with your buddies without the fear of being noticed. If you have any other tech related issue with your device, you can give us a call on our toll-free number which is (855) 765-6710.

Comments

comments

Deepak Saxena

"Deepak Saxena is a writer and blogger for The Phone Support. He loves to explore hidden features of the devices around him. Many of his articles are helpful to troubleshoot tech relates issues. Being a technical writer he keeps an eye on emerging technical trends and new features or updates releasing on daily basis. His articles are well to do for both tech savvy and non tech savvy audience."