$Windows.~BT folder is created whenever you upgrade windows version from old to new. It will create the backup of all the important directories such as user profiles, Windows folder, Program Files directory, and other important locations from your old version of Windows. These backups are then stored in Windows.old and $Windows.~BT folders, which can later be used to recover data that could not be transferred to the newer version. Moreover, you could also delete these folders to create additional storage space if you feel the data is useless.
How to delete $Windows.~BT folder?
To delete this folder, you’ll need to use Disk Cleanup tool available in Windows OS. To open this tool, just type cleanmgr in Windows start menu search bar and press enter.
- Once the program is launched; it will scan your computer’s hard drive to find out how much space can be freed. This may take a few minutes to complete.
- When it’s done, a new window will open, named Disk Cleanup for (C:).
- You will find plenty of files on the results screen, but since you cannot delete system files, select other options first.
- Next click on Cleanup system files and let the program scan your system.
- Once the scan is complete you will be able to see some extra options that you can now choose.
- Click on the option titled “Previous Windows Installation” along with “Temporary Windows Installation” and click ok.
- You will see a new window asking your permission to permanently delete these files. Confirm action by clicking ok to start deleting these files.
- Once the files have been deleted, the program will automatically close.
Know more about How to Uninstall Programs in Windows?
Note: You won’t be able to downgrade if you delete these files after upgrading to Windows 10. Windows 10 will however, automatically delete all the files after 10 days. But if you want to remove those files then just go to settings > Update & Security > Recovery and delete these files.